ASC Awards: BIRDMAN and Lubezki Take Top Cinematographers Trophy

Theatrical Motion Picture

Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) keeps rolling along the awards circuit and everything is falling into place. After claiming the top award at DGA, PGA, and SAG, it netted top honors for cinematography at the 29th Annual American Society of Cinematographers Awards over the weekend.Emmanuel “Chivo” Lubezki takes the top film prize for his “one shot” Birdman, beating out Óscar Faura (The Imitation Game), Robert D. Yeoman (The Grand Budapest Hotel), Roger Deakins (Unbroken) and Dick Pope (Mr. Turner).

The lenser also won the award last year for his work on Alfonso Cuaron‘s Gravity and it’s pretty much guaranteed that he will get the best cinematography Oscar this coming Sunday.

On the TV side, Jonathan Freeman won for HBO’s “Boardwalk Empire” in the category for an episode of a regular serie, while John Lindley got the award for a TV movie, miniseries or pilot for his work on “Manhattan.”

Here’s the full list of ASC winners:

Theatrical Motion Picture
Birdman, Emmanuel Lubezki

Spotlight Award
Concrete Night (image below), Peter Flinckenber

Episode of a Regular Series
“Boardwalk Empire: Golden Days for Boys and Girls,” Jonathan Freeman

Television Movie, Miniseries or Pilot
“Manhattan” pilot, John Lindley

Bud Stone Award of Distinction
Denny Clairmont and Otto Nemenz

International Award
Phil Méheux

Presidents Award
Matthew F. Leonetti

Board of Governors Award
Barbra Streisand

Career Achievement in Television Award
Bill Roe

Lifetime Achievement Award
John Bailey

Spotlight ASC Award