DC Comics’ SUICIDE SQUAD Cast Confirmed!

Announced Movie Cast

Greg Silverman, Warner Bros. Pictures’ president of worldwide production, has officially announced the cast for the new action adventure Suicide Squad!

The villains-forced-to-be-heroes movie will star two-time Oscar nominee Will Smith as Deadshot; Oscar winner Jared Leto as the Joker; Tom Hardy as Rick Flagg; Margot Robbie as Harley Quinn; Jai Courtney as Boomerang; and Cara Delevingne as Enchantress.

Silverman commented on the news:

“The Warner Bros. roots are deep on this one. David Ayer returns to the studio where he wrote Training Day and brings his incredible ability to craft multidimensional villains to this iconic DC property with a cast of longtime Warner collaborators Will Smith and Tom Hardy, and other new and returning favorites: Margot, Jared, Jai and Cara. We look forward to seeing this terrific ensemble, under Ayer’s amazing guidance, give new meaning to what it means to be a villain and what it means to be a hero.”

Jesse Eisenberg has also been in talks to reprise his Lex Luthor role from Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice in the upcoming supervillain tentpole, though the status of his deal is unknown.

Movie Cast Announced

Many of these names had been rumored for the David Ayer‘s project in recent weeks. Production on Suicide Squad is set to get underway in Toronto in April for an August 5, 2016 release.

Warner Bros. is still working on casting Amanda Waller. The character is the sort of Marvel’s Nick Fury who brings the team together, and is said to currently be eyeing Viola Davis, Octavia Spencer and Oprah Winfrey, with Winfrey being their first choice.

Now I’m actually really stoked for the pic. Despite the inclusion of Courtney, that’s an Inglourious Basterds cast! Hopefully this is the return of Smith.