Hirokazu Kore-eda’s ‘Shoplifters’ Wins Palme d’Or at the 71st Cannes Film Festival

71st Cannes Film Festival

The winners for the 71st Cannes Film Festival have been officially announced. Hirokazu Kore-eda’s Shoplifters has won the Palme d’Or out of twenty-one films in competition. Spike Lee won the Grand Prix, the runner-up prize for BlacKkKlansman, while Nadine Labaki’s Capernaum won the Jury Prize — the bronze medal.

Cate Blanchett served as President of the jury, with Kristen Stewart, Denis Villeneuve, Lea Seydoux, Ava DuVernay, Chang Chen, Robert Guédiguian, Khadja Nin, and Andrey Zvyagintsev.

Here’s the list of this year’s winners:

Palme d’Or: Shoplifters, Hirokazu Kore-eda

Grand Prix: BlacKkKlansman, Spike Lee

Jury Prize: Capernaum, Nadine Labaki

Special Palme d’Or: The Image Book, Jean-Luc Godard

Best Actress: Samal Yeslyamova, Akya

Best Actor: Marcello Fonte, Dogman

Best Director: Pawel Pawlikowski, Cold War

Best Screenplay (tie): Alice Rohrwacher, Happy as Lazzaro & Nader Saeivar, Three Faces

Camera d’Or: Girl, Lukas Dhont

Short Film Palme d’Or: All These Creatures, Charles Williams

Queer Palm (Feature): Girl, Lukas Dhont

Queer Palm (Short): The Orphan, Carolina Markowicz