Provocative Docudrama ‘Touch Me Not’ Wins Berlin Golden Bear

Berlin Golden Bear

Romanian sex docudrama Touch Me Not won the top Golden Bear prize at the conclusion of the 2018 Berlin Film Festival that began on Feb. 15.

“Based around an English woman’s attempt to overcome her intimacy issues, and ranging across everything from disability to sex clubs, Touch Me Not blends fiction and documentary and is Adina Pintilie’s first feature film.”

American Wes Anderson wins best director for his animated film Isle of Dogs.

The best actor award went to French thesp Anthony Bajon for his role in Cedric Khan’s The Prayer and the best actress prize to Ana Brun of Paraguay for her role in Marcelo Martinessi’s lesbian drama The Heiresses.

In a big night for female filmmakers, the jury grand prize award went to Polish director Malgorzata Szumowska’s Mug, “a film that explores bigotry in its story about a young man forced to undergo face transplant surgery after he is disfigured in an accident.”

Oh well, this is what happens when you push agendas, juries feel pressured in to giving awards out to women and you get a sweep like here. Speaking of which, the Berlin jury was led by German director Tom Tykwer, best known for Run Lola Run. Here’s the full list of winners:

Golden Bear for Best Film: Touch Me Not, Adina Pintilie

Silver Bear Grand Jury Prize: Twarz (Mug), Małgorzata Szumowska

Silver Bear Alfred Bauer Prize: The Heiresses, Marcelo Martinessi

Silver Bear for Best Director: Wes Anderson, Isle of Dogs

Silver Bear for Best Actress: Ana Brun, The Heiresses

Silver Bear for Best Actor: Anthony Bajon, The Prayer

Silver Bear for Best Screenplay: Manuel Alcalá and Alonso Ruizpalacios, Museum

Silver Bear for Outstanding Artistic Contribution, Costume or Set Design: Elena Okopnaya, Dovlatov

Audi Short Film Award: Solar Walk, Réka Bucsi

Silver Bear for Short Film Jury Prize: Imfura, Samuel Ishimwe

Golden Bear for Best Short Film: The Men Behind the Wall, Ines Moldavsky

Best First Feature: Touch Me Not, Adina Pintilie

Berlinale Glashütte Original – Documentary Prize: The Waldheim Waltz, Ruth Beckermann