Swedish Satire ‘The Square’ Wins the Palme D’or at Cannes

2017 Cannes Film Festival

Swedish satire The Square is the big winner of Palme d’Or at the 2017 Cannes Film Festival. Ruben Östlund’s 142-minute film convinced the Pedro Almodóvar’s Competition Jury with its wry and sometimes absurd humor.

The Grand Prix went to hotly buzzed 12o Beats Per Minute by Robin Campillo.

Loveless, directed by Russian writer-director Andrey Zvyagintsev, took the jury prize.

Diane Kruger won Best Actress for her role in Fatih Akin‘s In the Fade, while Joaquin Phoenix took Best Actor for Lynne Ramsay’s You Were Never Really Here.

The relatively low-buzz The Beguiled, starring Nicole Kidman and Colin Farrell, won Best Director for Sofia Coppola.

Read on the main slate of winners from Cannes 2017.


Palme d’Or: “The Square” (Ruben Östlund)

Grand Prix: “Beats Per Minute (BPM)” (Robin Campillo)

Jury Prize: “Loveless” (Andrey Zvyagintsev)

Best Actress: Diane Kruger, “In the Fade”

Best Actor: Joaquin Phoenix, “You Were Never Really Here”

Best Director: Sofia Coppola, “The Beguiled”

Best Screenplay – TIE: “The Killing of a Sacred Deer” (Yorgos Lanthimos, Efthimis Filippou) and “You Were Never Really Here” (Lynne Ramsay)

70th Anniversary Prize: Nicole Kidman

The 70th annual Cannes Film Festival came to a close Sunday night with the main competition awards ceremony at the Palais des Festivals where the main competition films were screened.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *