The Official Synopsis for ‘X-Men: Apocalypse’ is Unveiled

Alongside a new partnership with M&M’S, 20th Century Fox has officially unveiled the synopsis for next year’s X-Men: Apocalypse, which stars people, not cartoon candies.

Fox and director Brian Singer no doubt intend to continue the X-Men story. On the other hand, contracts for James McAvoy (Professor X), Michael Fassbender (Magneto), Jennifer Lawrence (Raven), and Nicholas Hoult (Beast) are up for re-negotiation, but that has nothing to do with X-Men: Apocalypse (with the titular villain (Oscar Isaac) being the first mutant in the movie version of the X-Men mythology).

Check out the official synopsis, which was revealed through a marketing tie-in (via ComingSoon):

Since the dawn of civilization, he was worshiped as a god. Apocalypse, the first and most powerful mutant from Marvel’s X-Men universe, amassed the powers of many other mutants, becoming immortal and invincible. Upon awakening after thousands of years, he is disillusioned with the world as he finds it and recruits a team of powerful mutants, including a disheartened Magneto (Michael Fassbender), to cleanse mankind and create a new world order, over which he will reign. As the fate of the Earth hangs in the balance, Raven (Jennifer Lawrence) with the help of Professor X (James McAvoy) must lead a team of young X-Men to stop their greatest nemesis and save mankind from complete destruction.”

“Raven”? Not “Mystique”? Oh, well, we need JLaw‘s face for marketing ads. How about a teaser trailer at least? Here’s a cute image of the Yellow and Green M&M’S as Magneto and Storm instead. They go together “adorably and nonsensically.”

Partnership With M&M’S

You can also check out the officially released images thus far:


Set to be the end of the X-Men trilogy that began with X-Men: First Class and continued with X-Men: Days of Future Past, X-Men: Apocalypse hits theaters May 27th, 2016 and also stars Rose Byrne (Moira MacTaggert), Evan Peters (Quicksilver), Lucas Till (Havok), and newcomers Alexandra Shipp (Storm), Sophie Turner (Jean Grey), Ben Hardy (Angel), Tye Sheridan (Cyclops), Olivia Munn (Psylocke), Kodi Smit-McPhee (Nightcrawler) and Lana Condor (Jubilee).